Wednesday, October 27, 2021

Country Cowboys made history by securing their first ever All Ireland Championship

By Conor Kelly, Date: 19/8/12

In what was a nail biting affair under the hot sun in Ashbourne the Country Cowboys made history by securing their first ever All Ireland Championship with a 28-24 victory over the Ballynahinch Rabbitohs.

Ballynahinch Rabbitohs finish top of table in Ireland domestic rugby league competition

by Conor Kelly, Date: 16/7/12

Yesterday saw Ballynahinch’s Ballymacaron Park host the 2012 Ulster League Finals day on which three games took place culminating in the league final between the three time champions Ballynahinch Rabbitohs and the Fermanagh Redskins.

The day kicked off with the Portadown Pumas grabbing their first win of the year when they took out the Ballynahinch Bunnies to win the Trophy Final.

Ireland Domestic Rugby League Action Heats Up

Press Release, Date: 1/7/12

With the domestic season fast approaching its climax all three provinces saw massive take place in the race for the All Ireland Finals.

In Ulster the Ballynahinch Rabbitohs were given a set back in their quest for a fourth Ulster title in a row when they were handed a 64-36 defeat at the hands of the Belfast Bulldogs. 

While in the second fixture of the day the Fermanagh Redskins ran out 66-0 winners over the Portadown Pumas who are still looking for their first points of the season.

This leaves the Belfast Bulldogs top of the table followed by the Maiden City Broncos and the Rabbitohs in third place which may not be enough for them to retain their title. 

In Leinster there was also a change of league leader when both Ashbourne and Athboy knocking Portarlington off top spot. 

Rugby League Ireland map

Rugby League Planet – Ireland snapshot and rugby league results


This page was last updated 11/4/14

Foundation Year - 1995

International Team - Wolfhounds

Highest finish in World Cup - Qualifying Semi-Final (2008), Quarter Final (2000)

Top level domestic competition - Ireland's domestic rugby league competition has been running since 1997. Ireland currently have 6 teams playing in the Elite League. The competition runs from May through to August. Ireland also run a north and south conference which have 4 teams each. In 2009 histroy was made with the kickoff of a new Northern Ireland 4 team competition.