Wednesday, September 27, 2023

Queensland hit by further injury blows

Date: 23/6/14

Queensland’s already stretched squad has been dealt another double blow following the news that experienced duo Brent Tate and Matt Scott will both be missing from the final game of this season’s State of Origin series. After suffering back-to-back defeats against New South Wales, the Maroons will now have to try and avoid a series whitewash without two key players. The final game of the three-game series will be played on July 9 at Suncorp Stadium, with the Blues already guaranteed the series win.

Australian Kangaroos

Sheens prepared for unknown Kiwi test

Date: 1/5/14

Australia coach Tim Sheens has admitted he is aware his team will be the firm favourites to beat an inexperienced New Zealand side in the upcoming Anzac Test but is preparing for a tough test from Kiwi players looking to prove a point. A strong Australian side will take on a youthful and inexperienced New Zealand team without a host of its star players.

Australian Kangaroos

Kangaroos name team for 2014 Anzac test

Updated: 28/4/14

Tim Sheens has named an experienced squad to take on the Kiwis in this Friday’s Anzac Test.

The GIO Schoolboy Cup is now in its 39th year

Date: 7/4/14

The GIO Schoolboy Cup is now in its 39th year and is the premier competition in Schoolboy Rugby League.

NRL straight in your eyes!

Don’t you just hate it when there’s nothing in your eyes? Luckily there’s a two-minute long, laser-filled, glam-rock music video (complete with exploding budgie) that’s pitching a solution – the Official NRL App with Digital Pass.

2014 NRL Season: Optimism or Pessimism?

By Matthew Brown, Date: 6/3/14

Well it’s that time of year again where the footy (at least here in Australia) kicks off again! There’s numerous big encounters happening and I personally can’t wait for the footy to start! Like any year there have been numerous areas to talk about and I wanted to highlight how this will impact Rugby League in 2014! So let’s get to it!

2014 NRL Auckland 9s

NRL spreading its wings – Good or bad?

By Matthew Brown, Date: 17/2/14

Auckland 9s, Summers 9s and Hybrid match, expanding World Club Challenge, Indigenous All Stars and extending Grand Final week like the Super Bowl! These are some of the ideas which the NRL have thrown out there since the very successful Auckland 9s finished yesterday. This blog will explain the pros and cons of these proposed ideas latter in the piece, first to the Auckland 9s!

Fox Sports nail it with new rugby league advert

By Richard Cowley, Date: 12/2/14

Well the smell of rugby league is in the air and Fox Sports have outdone themselves this year with their new NRL video Simply Obsessed. It’s funny, witty and has everything that would not only appeal to rugby league fans in Australia but sporting fans in general from around the world.

Australian Rugby League

2013 RLWC – Smith: This partly avenges 2008 Cup defeat

By John Davidson, (RLP RLWC Correspondent) Date: 2/12/13

Australian captain Cameron Smith has revealed that beating New Zealand to win the 2013 World Cup has partly erased some of the bitter feelings of losing the 2008 final.

Australian Rugby League

Australia name team for NZ match – Kangaroos set to knuckle down

Date: 29/11/13

Australia head coach Tim Sheens has named his 19 man squad to play New Zealand at Old Trafford on Saturday (14:30).

Australia forward Matthew Scott says his team is facing a week of tough preparation ahead of their Rugby League World Cup final clash against New Zealand at Old Trafford, Manchester on Saturday (2.30pm).