Toa Samoa

With both Teams finalised, the Australian Kangaroos will be out to claim its 12th World Cup title and Toa Samoa its first when the two Pacific nations go head-to-head at Old Trafford this weekend in the 2021 RLWC Final. (TV Kick-Off Time Saturday 19th November 2022, 4pm, local time). 

The Samoans have reached their first World Cup final after amazing victories over Tonga and England.

The Polynesian country started the tournament badly, with a huge loss to the hosts in Newcastle.

But they have bounced back to beat France and Greece, edge the Mate Ma’a in a classic in Warrington, and then defeat England in golden point in a thrilling semi-final in London.

It has been a fairytale journey, particularly after losing several players to injury along the way, but Samoa has shown character and determination to get this far.

They will be hoping there will be the perfect ending to their run in Manchester.

Samoa will be without Fa’amanu Brown after he suffered a concussion against England. Chanel Harris-Tevita is expected to take up the hooking role in his stead.

Captain Junior Paulo is free to play after escaping a ban for his spear tackle on Tom Burgess in the semi-final.

The Kangaroos will be confident of making it a hat-trick of World Cup wins in a row when they take to the field on Saturday.

Nathan Cleary appears likely to start at halfback, with Ben Hunt and Harry Grant the hookers, and Daly Cherry-Evans to miss out.

Reagan Campbell-Gillard is expected to be fit and take his place in Australia’s XVII. Coach Mal Meninga has made no changes to the

19-man squad that faced New Zealand in the semi-finals.

Australia vs Samoa 2021 Rugby League World Cup Final TV Kick-Off Times

London, United Kingdom Sat, 19 Nov 2022 at 4:00 pm GMT
Brisbane, Australia Sun, 20 Nov 2022 at 2:00 am AEST
Sydney, Australia Sun, 20 Nov 2022 at 3:00 am AEDT
Auckland, New Zealand Sun, 20 Nov 2022 at 5:00 am NZDT
Apia, Samoa Sun, 20 Nov 2022 at 5:00 am WST
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea Sun, 20 Nov 2022 at 2:00 am PGT
Nuku’alofa, Tonga Sun, 20 Nov 2022 at 5:00 am TOT
Suva, Fiji Sun, 20 Nov 2022 at 4:00 am FJT
New York, USA Sat, 19 Nov 2022 at 11:00 am EST
Los Angeles, USA Sat, 19 Nov 2022 at 8:00 am PST
Paris, France Sat, 19 Nov 2022 at 5:00 pm CET

Australia vs Samoa 2021 Rugby League World Cup Final Teams

Australian Kangaroos Team

  1. James Tedesco
  2. Daly Cherry-Evans
  3. Ben Hunt
  4. Valentine Holmes
  5. Jake Trbojevic
  6. Reagan Campbell-Gillard
  7. Cameron Munster
  8. Latrell Mitchell
  9. Josh Addo-Carr
  10. Jack Wighton
  11. Cameron Murray
  12. Patrick Carrigan
  13. Nathan Cleary
  14. Reuben Cotter
  15. Angus Crichton
  16. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui
  17. Harry Grant
  18. Liam Martin
  19. Isaah Yeo

TOA Samoa Team

  1. Joseph Suaalii
  2. Taylan May
  3. Stephen Crichton
  4. Brian To’o
  5. Jarome Luai
  6. Anthony Milford
  7. Josh Papali’i
  8. Junior Paulo
  9. Ligi Sao
  10. Jaydn Su’A
  11. Royce Hunt
  12. Spencer Leniu
  13. Martin Taupau
  14. Chanel Harris-Tavita
  15. Kelma Tuilagi
  16. Oregon Kaufusi
  17. Tim Lafai
  18. Ken Sio
  19. Connelly Lemuelu

Fite

John Davidson
John is a freelance journalist who has been writing about rugby league for the past decade. He covered the 2013 and 2017 World Cups, has appeared on TV and radio, and been published in The I-Paper, The Guardian, The Sun, The Mirror, League Express, Inside Sport magazine and Big League. He writes regularly for Forty-20 magazine, League Weekly and co-hosts the podcasts By the Balls and Six To Go.