Rugby League Emerging Nations World Championship

Date: 13/10/18

This weekend we will witness the final stages of the Emerging Nations World Championship, a huge gathering of players from around the globe who have come together in Sydney to celebrate international Rugby League.

Eleven nations from Europe, Oceania and Asia have competed over two weeks and, on a gala day at St Mary’s Rugby League Club, they will play off for all the places from Champions down to 11th position.

Alongside that competition there has been a regional championship with teams representing Africa, Latin America, Asia and Europe, a gathering of players from the most diverse backgrounds ever in the sport.

Finally, demonstrating the growth of integration within Rugby League, teams from Australia and New Zealand have competed in a PDRL (Physical Disability) Three Test Series which goes into the final game with one win each.

Rugby League International Federation CEO, Nigel Wood has attended many of the games in person and he has expressed his satisfaction with the progress of the international game.

“It is a joy and humbling to watch these games which have been made possible by the close working relationship between the army of volunteers across the world and the RLIF.”

“Each of these nations and regions is at a different stage of their development and it is the role of the RLIF to ensure that there is a clear and meaningful pathway for their on-field and off-field development. The Emerging Nations Championship has demonstrated that it can provide an element of that pathway and we look forward to discussing ways in which we can support and grow our membership.”

“The RLIF is very proud of the current international programme which will see 40 nations playing full international matches this year alone.”

“International Rugby League provides inspiration and recognition for our players in every continent. We are determined to provide a programme that reflects the demands of our players and officials and which is attractive to our members, sponsors and the public whether in attendance or on television.”

International Results and Fixtures 2018

Friday 12th October 2018

International Test Match

Italy 18-8 South Africa

Thursday 11th October 2018

Emerging Nations World Cup

Hong Kong 30-32 Japan

Wednesday 10th October 2018

Emerging Nations World Cup

Vanuatu 4-44 Poland

Malta 20-10 Hungary

Greece 8-16 Niue

Philippines 29-16 Turkey

Tuesday 9th October 2018

Emerging Nations World Cup

Solomon Islands 44-22 Japan

Sunday 7th October 2018

Emerging Nations World Cup

International Friendly

Solomon Islands 32-12 Hong Kong

Philippines 12-24 Niue

Japan 6-58 Poland

Greece 38-0 Vanuatu

Serbia 2 54 France

Saturday 6th October 2018

European Championship

Spain 32-24 Russia

Thursday 4th October 2018

Emerging Nations World Cup

Japan 0-60 Turkey

Malta 16-26 Niue

Hong Kong 6-62 Poland

Hungary 18-13 Vanuatu

Monday 1st October 2018

Emerging Nations World Cup

Malta 36-10 Philippines

Solomon Islands 22-30 Turkey

Hungary 20-18 Greece

Friday 28th September 2018

International Test Match

Hungary 0-32 Poland

Saturday 22nd September 2018

International Test Match

Sweden 4-24 Netherlands

Saturday 15th September 2018

European Championship

Greece 60-4 Malta
Norway 40-22 Germany

Saturday 8th September 2018

European Championship

Ukraine 26-28 Greece

Saturday 1st September 2018

International Test Match

Norway 76-0 Poland  

Netherlands 38-22 Germany

Saturday 25th August 2018

European Championship

Germany 24-4 Czech Republic

 Saturday 30th June 2018

International Test Match

Hungary 0-70 Ireland

Sunday 24th June 2018

European Championship

Malta 22-34Ukraine

Saturday 23rd June 2018

International Test Match

England 36-18 New Zealand

Malta 24-30 South Africa

Papua New Guinea 26-14 Fiji

Tonga 38-22 Samoa

Saturday 16th June 2018

European Championship 

Czech Republic 20-12 Norway

Saturday 3rd February 2018

International Test Match

Hungary 30-12 Philippines

Fixtures

Saturday 13th October 2018

European Championship

Russia v Serbia

 

Emerging Nations World Cup

Turkey v Poland
Greece v Hungary

Philippines v Vanuatu

Solomon Islands v Japan

Malta v Niue

 

International Test Match

New Zealand v Australia

Wednesday 17th October 2018

International Test Match

England v France

Saturday 20th October 2018

European Championship

Serbia v Spain

Saturday 27th October 2018

European Championship

Ireland v Scotland
France v Wales

 

International Test Match

England v New Zealand

Friday 2nd November 2018

European Championship

Scotland v Wales

Saturday 3rd November 2018

European Championship

Ireland v France

Sunday 4th November 2018

International Test Match

England v New Zealand

Saturday 10th November 2018

European Championship

International Test Match

France v Scotland

England v New Zealand

Sunday 11th November 2018

Tuesday 13th November 2018

Saturday 17th November 2018

European Championship

Americas Cup

Americas Cup

Wales v Ireland

USA v Chile
Canada v Jamaica
USA/Chile v Canada/Jamaica

Fite